Saturday, April 12, 2008

4/12/08

Red Sox. I know it's early for this, but I have that 2005 feel a little. The euphoria of winning the title, and the idea that the Sox are more "stacked" then they were last year. Eeesh. In '05, they had to rush Wells to the mound to start vs. the Yankees on Opening Day. He pretty well sucked from day one, he fit in to the club house the same way Johnny Damon's hair fit into the Yankee clubhouse, and they slugged their way to the wildcard before tapping out in round 1. Not good. This year, Beckett is hurt, so we rush (sorta, with the baby) Dice-K to the mound, and he wins, but it didn't feel comfortable with Beckett out. The Sox have played 11 games and Beckett has pitched one game. A loss. This sucks....So what have we learned? Uh, nothing. Papi is in a slump, the Sox can't hit in the clutch, and maybe they should have traded Ellsbury for Santana after all. I don't know. I always worried that he got a lot of "accidental" hits to left. I kept thinking "why doesn't the opposition just play the LF in and take their chances." They are starting to do that a little more. He looks overmatched at times. Ugh. But it's only game 11. We'll be fine. Really.
Celtics. Are they still playing? Just kidding. If Garnett doesn't win the MVP, I'm calling BS on the whole thing. It's not "guy who scores the most point and is flashy and entertaining award." It's the Most Valuable Player. Think of it like this: The Celtics go on the road to play, among others, the Suns and the Warriors. They lose to the Suns by 8, I believe, and lose to the Warrior on a last second buzzer beater by Baron Davis. In both those games, Garnett was coming off the ab injury, clearly wasn't 100%, and Doc kept his minutes down. When the Celtics played the Warriors at home and Garnett wasn't injured, it was a 20+ blowout in favor of the Green. And when they recently played the Suns, same outcome. That, and the other team stats (going from worst defensive team to best defensive team, one of the worst records to the best record, having two or three winning streaks of 9+ games, etc) make it a landslide in favor of Garnett. That said, your MVP: Kobe. Why? Guys don't want to date the good looking girl, who is funny, smart, creative, nice, cares about you. They want to date the underwear model with the huge knockers, hot stomach, nice butt, and toned legs, who's 23. Garnett doesn't fit into that category. That's LeBron, that's Kobe, that's the flashy guys. How does that usually turn out when guys go for zero depth? Right. But, that's how these 50 year old white guys, with the pot bellies, the need for free buffets, and zero understanding of the game will vote when it comes time. Garnett will finish either third or fourth behind: KobeLebron (same guy really), and Chris Paul Fred Bill..whatever his name is. Fourth. 63 wins and counting=fourth. God.
Patriots. I can't do it. The wounds are still too sensitive. I can still remember leaving the stadium and hearing "18-1, 18-1..." Bastards. 

No comments: